

50th Anniversary

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules & Regulations

Roy Enfield Memorial Open 50 mile time trial Sunday 12th August 2018 Start time 06:30 Q50/11 course

HQ: Brenzett Village Hall

Roy Enfield, a member of the Medway Wheelers, was part of the wheelers winning team in the prestigious BBAR competition in 1948 and 1949. Ken Joy and Peter Beardsmore were the other two counters, with Beardsmore winning the individual competition in 1948, and Joy, who was champion for four successive years, in 1949.

Roy's widow has maintained contact with the club since Roy's death and recently donated some of his medals and associated memorabilia to the club.

Medway Velo Club - Roy Enfield Memorial Open 50 Mile Time Trial

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules & Regulations

Held on Sunday 12th August 2018 starting at 06:30 hrs

On Course Q50/11

Awards

1st Fastest £30	Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedaler)
2nd Fastest £25	Nick Fennell (Thanet RC)
3rd Fastest £20	Andy Meliak (Velorefined.com Aerosmiths)
1 st Woman £30	Charmaine Pullen (Folkestone Velo Club)
2 nd Woman £25	Caro Harper (Brixton Cycles Club)
3 rd Woman £20	Debbie Percival (Kent Velo Girls / Boys)
1 st Vet OAS £20	Andy Meliak (Veloerefined.com Aerosmiths)
2 nd Vet OAS £10	Pete Elms (Velorefined.com Aerosmiths)
3 rd Vet OAS £5	Anthony Bee (Wigmore CC)

All awards will be sent out to winners in the post after the event.

Event Secretary/Promoter

Phil Booth (Medway Velo Club)
43 Heron Way, Walderslade, Chatham, Kent, ME5 7RL
07801 420741
phil.cttsoutheast@gmail.com
philbooth73@yahoo.co.uk

Timekeepers/Recorder - Ernie Mackey (Medway Velo Club), Dave Mackey (Medway Velo Club)

Start holder/Marshals/Sign on – Barbara Kennison, Rob Kennison, Vic Williams, Rodney Kennison, Andrew Collyer, Matt Nunn, Phil Gurnett, Rob Sapp, Tom Knight, Steven Smith, Kieran Lawler and Lee Kingston (all Medway Velo Club).

Having been run by the KCA for several years, 2018 saw the return of the Roy Enfield Memorial 50 to the stewardship of Medway Velo, and Chris Fennell was a worthy winner for the third consecutive year, equalling his own course record. Charmaine Pullen, riding the course for the first time, was first woman, whilst Andy Meliak took the honours in age standard competition as well as taking third in the overall standings. Hopefully others got PB's or course bests.

Thank you to everyone who rode, commiserations to those who suffered punctures on the course, sadly some of the recent wet weather had led to gravel and other associated detritus on the roads of Romney Marsh.

Look forward to seeing you all in the 2019 event, please remember Medway Velo also promote an open ten, the North Downs Hilly, as well as Grass Track racing, and road races. It would be great to see you at some of these events too.

Phil Booth Event secretary

Position	Rider	Club	Category	Time	OAS
1	Chris Fennell	The Independent Pedaler	Senior	1:41:37	N/A
2	Nick Fennell	Thanet RC	Senior	1:46:26	N/A
3	Andy Meliak	Velorefined.com	Vet 52	1:48:46	+32:08
	,	Aerosmiths			
4	Adrian Hawkins	Thanet RC	Vet 49	1:53:18	+26:16
5	Pete Elms	Velorefined.com	Vet 51	1:54:27	+26:00
		Aerosmiths			
6	Rich Jones	Abellio SFA Racing Team	Vet 41	1:56:19	+19:16
7	Alex Pearson	Woolwich CC	Vet 42	1:56:22	+20:10
8	Anthony Bee	Wigmore CC	Vet 54	1:56:50	+24:59
9	Mark Newton	Elite Cycling	Vet 51	1:59:28	+20:59
10	Martin Brown	7 Oaks Tri	Vet 57	1:59:54	+23:27
11	Richard Giles	Serpentine Running Club	Vet 41	2:00:25	+15:10
12	Dave Hampton	Ashford Wheelers	Vet 50	2:02:38	+17:22
13	Jim Ford	Dorking Cycling Club	Vet 54	2:03:31	+18:18
14	Sam Day	CS Grupetto	Vet 44	2:05:14	+12:12
15	Andy Robinson	Ashford Wheelers	Vet 59	2:05:55	+18:34
16	Chris Bax	PMR@Toachim House	Vet 66	2:08:41	+20:48
17	Peter Gray	Old Portlians	Vet 64	2:09:02	+18:49
18	Charmaine Pullen	Folkestone Velo Club	W Vet 48	2:09:15	+21:00
19	Paul Kirkness	Thanet RC	Vet 64	2:09:59	+ 17:52
20	Sam Bennett	7 Oaks Tri	Vet 45	2:10:54	+ 6:58
21	Andrew Green	Old Portlians	Vet 52	2:12:11	+ 8:43
22	Mark Amon	Rye & District Wheelers	Vet 53	2:13:41	+ 7:40
23	Caro Harper	Brixton Cycles Club	W Senior	2:15:01	N/A
24	Dean Painter	Medway Tri	Vet 53	2:15:10	+ 6:11
25	Debbie Percival	Kent Velo Girls / Boys	W Vet 56	2:16:58	+ 17:20
26	Suzanne Shaw	Kingston Phoenix RC	W Vet 51	2:21:49	+ 9:53
27	Valerie Place	7 Oaks Tri	W Vet 57	2:24:58	+ 9:59
28	Colin Inett	Thanet RC	Vet 77	2:31:16	+ 11:52
29	Deborah Munton	7 Oaks Tri	W Vet 60	2:33:30	+ 3:17
30	Neil Ord	Medway Velo Club	Vet 61	2:39:14	- 13:31
	Neil Watson	7 Oaks Tri	Vet 50	DNF	
	Matthew Stammers	Abellio – SFA Racing Team	Senior	DNF	
	Mark Hill	Velorefined.com	Vet 51	DNF	
		Aerosmiths			
	Lee Buckman	Ashford Wheelers	Vet 43	DNF	
	Paul Smith	Velorefined.com	Vet 46	DNF	
		Aerosmiths			
	Tracy Wilkinson–Begg	Folkestone Velo Club	W Vet 52	DNS (A)	
	John Osborne	Folkestone Velo Club	Vet 47	DNS (A)	
	Steven Smith	Medway Velo Club	Vet 41	DNS (A)	
	Lee Kingston	Medway Velo Club	Vet 44	DNS (A)	
	Neil Lewis	North Road CC	Vet 50	DNS (A)	
	Andrew Buckley	Adalta CC	Vet 41	DNS (A)	
	Tom Knight	Medway Velo Club	Vet 41	DNS (A)	
	Eva Nyrinda	a3crg	W Senior	DNS (A)	
	Kevin Tye	Velorefined.com	Vet 56	DNS (A)	
		Aerosmiths			
	Bob Richardson	Bournemouth Jubilee	Vet 52	DNS (A)	
	200 111011011010011	Wheelers	10132	5.13 (7.9	
	Christopher Evans	Rapha CC	Senior	DNS	
	Tom Rowing	Abellio – SFA Racing Team	Espoir	DNS	
	Richard Payn	34 Nomads	Vet 54	DNS	

1	Mark Bishop	GS Avanti	Senior	DNS	
9	Simon Vieweg	Velopace	Vet 44	DNS	
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	Andy McPherson	VC Deal	Vet 51	DNS	